Portuguese trio, Vaarwell, explore the dark side of electro pop with new track; ‘Money’

Following a string of coveted festival slots and live shows in 2018, Portuguese pop trio Vaarwell explore a delicate electronic universe on new release ‘Money’.

Moving on from the sugary rhythms of previous single ‘Stay’, ‘Money’ sees the trio experiment with different textures and sample details. Overlaid with Margarida Falcão’s haunting vocals, the track’s woozy, dark synths assert the group’s personal musical growth, as they explain:

‘Money’ is all about personal emancipation. It describes finding consolation and strength through independence.”

Margarida, Ricardo Nagy (guitar, keyboards, production) and Luis Monteiro (bass, sampler) formed in 2014 after meeting while studying music production. Since their formation the dream-pop trio have been included in 2015’s FNACBest New Talent’ Compilation, named Tradiio’sArtist of the Week’, and curated and recorded a track for French designer Philippe Starck’s exhibition at the Groninger Museum.

Previous releases have also received airplay and critical validation from BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens and Lauren Laverne on BBC Radio 6, as well as extensive online support from Stereogum, Indie Shuffle, Kaltblut Magazine, Louder Than War, Clash and Crack In The Road.

With the imminent release of their second EP ‘Early Rise’ and a slot at SWSX 2019 on the horizon, Vaarwell’s alluring dream-pop is proving to be infectious.

Join 350k+ other creatives and get every article sent to your inbox

    I consent to the terms and conditions